… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

 

If you guys thought Christmas in South Africa was big….you have not experienced anything like this.

 

We are amateurs when it comes to festive bling – whether on trees, in the house, in the yard or on the roof. Lights are put up in November already. Some have real Christmas trees (moi being one of them) and these are adorned before you’ve even realised its the advent of the Festive Season. Stars or candles are placed in windows and serve as a welcoming beacon for anyone returning home from work (its dark at 5 pm already, you know) 

 

Nativity features are HUGE. But one does not get a sense of competing ego’s – people seem to do it coz’ they want to. Not to keep up with Norbert, Hubert or Sarah.

 

We went for a walk-about the other night (had too much to eat, had to walk it off, and this in minus-temps) and were absolutely amazed at the lengths some people go to. Some are gaudy (not my taste) and some really beautiful and tastefully done.

 

Don’t get me wrong, if I had the money, I would probably also buy about 3,000 Euro’s worth of bling for my garden. But I don’t. And I actually caught myself just feeling slightly miffed that I couldn’t bling my garden like that. Ah well. There’s always the end-of-season sales. Lets hope there’s something left…

 

Every shop, nook and cranny that can accommodate Christmas goodies are overloaded with such a variety, you wouldn’t know where to start or to look. Even the local Hardware store had me flummoxed. I was starstruck. I fully intended to buy some lights or stars or SOMETHING, but I just couldn’t make up my mind, so I left empty handed. Oh, and I couldn’t afford half of it!! lol

 

We decided to rather take our chances at the Christmas Market – Germany is famed for their Weihnachtsmarkten. Everyone has been gaaning-aan about it, so of course we MUST go check it out. We will be doing that tomorrow. And of course, it’s not really (just) the Glühwein that’s drawing me like a fly….I have some gifts to buy and some bling too…

 

We will be going to the Christkindlesmarkt in Nürnberg, visited by thousands of tourists every year. And lucky for us, it is just a few kilometres from us (brag brag ;-)). Not that Erlangen doesn’t have one. It’s just Mickey Mouse compared to Nürnberg…

 

        

 

 

I will post some pictures of the gardens (need to download them first, and for that I need to find the bloody cable. Grrr) and maybe also some of the Christmas Market

 

In the meantime, have a fab weekend!

 

Luvies

 

D

 

 

Comments on: "Christmas in Germany" (26)

  1. FleurinFrance said:

    :-))) hi there,I always summer is a good time to be in Germany however Christmas time is just the very best time of the year.Enjoy keep warm and well..

  2. Moonz said:

    Can’t wait to see your photies!!! Enjoy the market. (there’s a guy on the blogs – moonwalker – from Germany – he’s put up pics of some of the decorations in the city. And give love to the fandamily.Oh btw.. nothing’s changed – you never could make up your mind in the shops.. you’re as bad as Tania 🙂 Luvya xxx

  3. jeanihess said:

    Happy blinging:)

  4. bronnie.l said:

    MMH german xmas markets are famous all through europe you know?

  5. foot loose said:

    Enjoy Diz. I can’t help thinking back to when Christmas eve was devoted to trimming the tree … I must have been very young 🙂

  6. JadedJayne said:

    allo laydee. Ooh pics, pics, post tonsa pics!!!

  7. santanajewels said:

    It looks beautiful dear one , reminds me of Italy . Today I am so flucking homesick I can just die. Ah well , I will survive ne… take care hon ..*huge hugs*

  8. benmica said:

    Spend Xmas in Germany in 1983. It was wonderful. We went to Heidelberg for my birthday and at Black Forest cake. The buildings are beautiful and very old.

  9. ambi said:

    You’re South African? What are you doing in Germany? How long have you been there?

  10. Rockybaby said:

    It felt like some kind of nogalgia for me reading about your experience with the decorated gardens. I grew up in Germany and spend seven years during the 1990ties there. The Germans, Swiss and Austrians do it so beautifully. Then, when you cross the Alps into Italy it is all colourful lights, looking rather kitsch. The Weihnachts Markt in Nuernberg is stunning, enjoy as much Gluehwein as you can. Your temperatures at the moment are lousy, to say the least.

  11. pinkpolkadot said:

    I am sooooo jealous, Dizzy!! My husband’s father was German, so we do (most) of our Christmas according to German traditions!! I hope yoy and your fam are enjoying this thoroughly!!

  12. pinkpolkadot said:

    …. I would love to see MORE photies!!

  13. Killakat said:

    Yeah, I think the temps are shitty too 😉

  14. Killakat said:

    Hah. Asif …. 😉

  15. Killakat said:

    7 months and counting….working, playing, learning a new language, freezing, having fun…More? 😀

  16. Killakat said:

    The churches are my faves

  17. Killakat said:

    Ai, the pics geht nicht…or maybe its me 😦

  18. Killakat said:

    Better yet? Will come over to have a look xxx

  19. Killakat said:

    lol! I only just found out that most (not all) deco the tree on Xmas eve. How strange … 😀

  20. Killakat said:

    Noo-oooit?!?! 😉

  21. Killakat said:

    Not me, too broke!

  22. Killakat said:

    Ai Dinx, did you have to say it out LOUD???? lol xxx

  23. Killakat said:

    Thanks hun, you too! It seems we might still have a white Xmas, huh?

  24. Killakat said:

    I think my fam are having much more fun than I am….xxx

  25. Killakat said:

    I have some on the camera, but most of the gardens on my mobile. And I can’t find the usb cable to download….ai tog 😦

  26. Moonz said:

    Yep… I always say it like it is! Hehehe.. straight like a die. HUGS darling Dizz.. miss you stax. xxx

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

