… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

 

 

‘Ello bloggies, hope you sommer had a stunning weekend.

 

Mine was a bit of both. Had a family function at home, which was most excellent, except that I seemed to have stepped on a few toes.

 

I was asked “Do you have to say exactly what you think and feel or whatever’s on your mind?”

 

Or “Can’t you be more tactful or …just bite your tongue?”

 

Hmm.  I probably could. But why should I? To please whom exactly? Everyone else?

 

Been there done that. Bit the tongue and became bitter and resentful coz’ “I coulda, woulda, shoulda” and people took advantage.

 

I only recently started speaking my mind. It’s liberating. And I’m having way too much fun not to!!

 

Again, why should I? So that people can like me? So I can have (more) friends? So I can hang on to the few I have? Not to upset anyone? 

 

Being liked is not enough anymore. Respect. That’s what I want.

 

R-E-S-P-E-C-T

 

Got it? *winks*

 

Anyways, these people (some close friends & Boo) have no idea how much I do bite my tongue. If I didn’t….whoo….

 

“moenie jou hart ‘n moordkuil maak nie”  

(meaning don’t bottle things up, speak your mind, share your feelings)

 

Keeping your mouth shut makes you ill. Eventually. Or resentful towards yourself and people in general, coz’ not speaking your mind when it matters leads to self-criticism. And you think I should’ve…”  OR why didn’t I…?”  Or “I’m such a wuss” OR why didn’t I just open my mouth?” 

 

But there’s a flip side. Words can’t be taken back. The self doubt afterward is the worst. Was it really necessary?” or Could I really not just ignore it?”

 

So what am I saying? Say what’s on your mind. If you can live with the consequences AND yourself afterwards. 

 

I might not have friends/family left at the rate I’m going. But why compromise just to be liked? Right? If they love me, they will respect me, and we’ll talk it out, kiss and make up – like adults – and all will be fine. Right?

 

HAH. In an ideal world, maybe. In reality, you’ll be lucky if you get the chance to…..

 

And the one that I had it out with? My very own Pa. I had enough.

 

Comments on: "Tactfully Opinionated" (29)

  1. Plumcrush said:

    😎 I heard a saying once, speak the truth but speak it palatably!

  2. StephanKuhn said:

    I’d say that an honest opinion is worth more than a million pretty words designed to spare me. So let’s cut the bullshit and tell me what you think.

  3. bronnie.l said:

    be careful or noone wants to speak to you! πŸ˜›

  4. Killakat said:

    Trust you to say something like that πŸ˜‰

  5. Killakat said:

    You’re just full of shit. Now I feel much better

  6. Killakat said:

    Ag, sometimes not even that helps. Buggers πŸ˜‰

  7. Killakat said:

    hear hear!!! πŸ˜‰

  8. Killakat said:

    Ay jong…. πŸ˜‰

  9. Killakat said:

    lol! An opinion other than his is unheard of!

  10. There really is no point in being liked because you keep your opinion to yourself.

  11. Mahesi said:

    I also speak my mind but in a nice way. Enjoy the rest of your day Dizz πŸ˜‰

  12. kasper said:

    ja nee.It’s at the very least freeing to get it off your chest. After that one just lives with it…

  13. reasoma said:

    That`s the way to go.

  14. Killakat said:

    Exactly. Learnt that one a bit late… πŸ˜‰

  15. Killakat said:

    I’m not a huge fan of “self-help” books, I tend to forget what it was all about….. Can’t u just summarise it for me? lolThanks anyways

  16. Killakat said:

    I hope i do too…maybe it’s the way I look when I’m saying it?… πŸ˜‰

  17. Killakat said:

    Living with it…ja, neh? πŸ˜‰

  18. I used to be the queen of saying my mind, but then I found although a lot of people like you to do so, they also don’t really want you to and start to steer clear! LOL, I now have to bite my tongue, really, really hard…

  19. bronnie.l said:

    dizzy maybe I speak from experience on the too much honesty?

  20. Killakat said:

    lol!

  21. Same shit different day said:

    Good girl Diz, proud of you πŸ™‚ x

  22. Killakat said:

    LOL! I’ve noticed the circle is getting rather small….

  23. Sylvia.Brouwer said:

    You go girl..xxx

  24. jeanihess said:

    You ramble on …just you don’t use frank as an excuse:))

  25. arcat said:

    Speak your mind, learn tact with it too?

  26. Killakat said:

    I think one sould be circumspect – some situations & persons call for some tact. A balance I oftentimes battle with!

  27. Killakat said:

    Something like that, ja! lol

  28. Killakat said:

    I’d never, he’s a dodgy one…. πŸ˜‰

  29. Moonz said:

    Good for you.. respect is earned.. both ways – pa, ma – almal. YOu can say what you feel.. in fact always do… maybe in a nice way.. but always say how you feel. (Except look what happened to me when I said too much about what I thought LOL)MOenie worrie nie. Luvsya loads πŸ™‚ xxx and hugs

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

