… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

I whinge. And I bitch and moan. And I swear. Like a matroos. But that’s on the blogs. Meet me here (in the office), and you wouldn’t say. Right poker face I am. Professionalism incarnate (see, I even know big words! Lol).

 

Here’s a boring tea-time story for you……

 

Being in IT, one is always ALWAYS wrong. And if you’re right, you are still wrong. Which means, the customer is always rightt? RI-IGHT!!

 

Unless you CYA yourself to death. Which we have to do. Me included. And no, this is not due to any obsessive compulsion. I hate being wrong, so I endeavour to always be right. Which I think is a good thing. Right? Knew you’d agree.

 

And I try to be professional & objective about stuff – if you dropped the ball, I’m not going to inform the whole bloody world and make you look like the twat you are. I know it, no one else needs to. We all want to be regarded as professional, right? And most people want careers. So what are the chances of having a good career if people see you as a twat? Minuscule? Exactly.

 

So I was told the reports I produced did not conform to spec. RI-IGHT. So why did you sign off on it? Score 1 for Dizzy

 

Then Im requested to revise the reports (for one dept) and include “missing” items. First I confer with my brothers over the sea as I wasn’t sure it could be done. And they said, Yes, go for it babes! Do this and do that and VOILA! You have gold!

 

And I had some problems, I even started to doubt my most excellent abilities. Only to realise it Wasn’t Me (Shaggy? lol), it was the system. Thank goodness. But which meant I could not deliver said revised reports on time, or within spec.

 

So Dizzy duly informed said dept (via email & telephone of course). At which point I offered what I had available for testing and use in the interim. All good. They sounded satisfied with this

 

This dear person – who just happens to be a woman – did not timeously test and report back to me. She did so at 10pm on Wednesday, which was of course futile as I was in la-la-land. And I tend not to work at that time either.

 

So dearie needed a change to the report. Ie. Additional stuff. And that change needed to be done yesterday! And I said, sowwy, no can do – I’m good, but I aint that good! She was asking for a miracle! But I had it delivered tjop-tjop anyway. At great blogging cost πŸ˜‰

 

And then she decided to send out an email to her boss, and her bosses of bosses (CEO & CFO) et al. Basically, the only one she didn’t copy in, was The Man up There. Mistake. HUGE mistake

 

I normally do not get into email wars and stuff. I hate pettiness and kak. I will pick up the phone, trash it out with you, resolve things amicably, you know? And I truly try keeping emotions out of it. There’s nothing worse than reacting emotionally – that discredits you immediately.

 

So called her. And the conversation went such:

Me: That email. You know you’re wrong

She: Why am I wrong?

Me: Check my email to you on Wed

She: Ja, but, you didn’t deliver what we asked, and I had to….

Me: Really? Are you convinced of this?

She: *unsure* Uhm

Me: Do you think you were justified in sending that. To everyone?

She: My boss said I should…

Me: So you don’t think for yourself? He was cc’d in my mail, and you still…?

She: But the report wasn’t on time and correct…..

Me: Fine, I will reply. This is my reputation…

She: Oh, what are you going to say?

Me: The truth. Facts. Cheers

 

It is my name that’s being dragged through the mud. These people know me, I’m not some faceless yack in this company?! And I’ve worked long and hard for this good reputation I have here. Bloody sod.

 

I sent the email. It was not long. Just a few sentences. Very objective. Professional. Silence from her.

 

I also realise that the chances these people will read those emails are small. I am satisfied that I’ve vindicated myself regardless.

 

I don’t feel sorry for her at all. Jy will mos. I’m nice enough, but don’t fuckingwell mess with me!

Comments on: "Don’t Mess With My Toot-Toot" (39)

  1. letterdash said:

    This post has been featured on our Facebook Letterdash Fan Page.Please join our Fan Page on FB.http://www.facebook.com/pages/Letterdash/153716702386

  2. Killakat said:

    Oh, wow! Is something to be excited about? lol

  3. lonelykitty said:

    Hear hear! πŸ™‚

  4. davidsdance said:

    You go girl!

  5. letterdash said:

    You bet!

  6. SuperIQ said:

    YOU GO!!! I really hate it when you have to justify to the idiot how you were right and they were wrong. I am always the first to admit when I MAY have done something wrong…

  7. hemmingway said:

    I am proud of you… I have had a few of them and you were sooooo right! stick it right back if they insiston it I say…lol beside you gave her an opportunity to redeem herself.

  8. bronwyntivers said:

    We refer to the CC field as the ‘Can’t Cope’ field. So people tend not to use it unless there’s Groot Kak LOL

  9. Colonialist said:

    What’s to say except ‘Good for you!’

  10. Mahesi said:

    You go Dizzy πŸ˜‰

  11. Mahesi said:

    and LOL @ the 1st paragraph

  12. bronnie.l said:

    poor dizzy! at least you were in the right, I got kakked out earlier this week but it WAS my fault sort of for dropping my game.

  13. Killakat said:

    πŸ˜‰

  14. Killakat said:

    And you just sounds like you’re making excuses, this is why I hate getting into spiffs like these

  15. Killakat said:

    Yes I did. Trying to be nice doesn’t always work

  16. Killakat said:

    And swearing only right at the end. Are you proud? lol

  17. Killakat said:

    So that should tell you! lol Can’t Cope – I luvvit! hahahahaaaa

  18. Killakat said:

    Handled with great aplomb?

  19. Killakat said:

    One for the home team, right? lol

  20. Killakat said:

    Hey Kitty, how’s that thing coming? lol

  21. Killakat said:

    lol! Had to clarify the schizo’ behaviour πŸ˜‰

  22. Killakat said:

    Whoo, that better be the LAST….!Don’t be too hard on yourself. It happens. The diff is you admit to the kak, then fix it. Don’t try covering it up. Or else… ;)I told you, happened to me too…hence the intense CYA endevours!

  23. bronnie.l said:

    still squish the chick like a bug! I am right behind you!

  24. optout said:

    Good for you Dizzy – you go girl!

  25. Killakat said:

    lol! Do i sense some bloodthirst in your voice? And are we gonna hike our skirts in our panties and gooi a punch? I’m in!

  26. Killakat said:

    Ag thanks man! πŸ˜‰

  27. avryl said:

    What a fabulous post – and so well handled! I’m still smiling widely…Thanks for the visit. Have a great weekend!

  28. Emails with cc’s, they will be the death of me!

  29. Killakat said:

    Glad I could make you smile today! And ditto! πŸ™‚

  30. Killakat said:

    Jirrie, I hate it so! Only used by people who need “airtime” lol

  31. linniezx10 said:

    It is called PEBCAK my dear! Problem Exists Between Chair and Keyboard1 LOL!

  32. Killakat said:

    Jirrie, I was hoping you’d give me the def’ for that! LOL indeed! πŸ˜‰

  33. JournoJen said:

    JA lekker!! As you said…SY WIL MOS! Don’t play with the big girls unless you can keep your big girl panties on.HIGH FIVE DIZZY!

  34. Killakat said:

    *dizzy jumps, but doesn’t quite make it*Settle for a virtual one? lol

  35. jeanihess said:

    OOH…I came to look for boobies and found blabse and blabbing and wonder if I might get my head shot off, I mean, I only came to see boobies….sigh:-)

  36. Killakat said:

    Nooit, Jeani! I only shoot those who make me cross! So don’t make me cross, neh? lol

  37. kat64 said:

    You go Girlfriend!Have an awesome weekend.

  38. santanajewels said:

    you go girl … all the way πŸ™‚ *huge hugs* have a super aw some weekend hon

  39. pinkpolkadot said:

    If you don’t stand up for yourself, no one will, Diz!!! Good for you!!

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

