… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

So I finally managed to upload the pictures (after numerous failed and aborted attempts) as well as putting some semblance of a story together. If I bore you to tears – well, just go elsewhere OK? No snide comments allowed, TYVM!! Especially regarding the mik-n-druk photies. I’m no BloggAlot!

 

 ~;~

 

 I arrived in Den Haag on the Sunday afternoon. I was in such a hurry to get sight seeing, I just booked in at my hotel (see pic), had a quick shower then took the train from Den Haag to Amsterdam. The ride was about an hour to Amsterdam Centraal Station. The route was not very scenic – the buildings are all similar along the route (I’ve seen enough of those on the train from Brussels). I did see a lot of cows though. I wonder, are Holland cows the same like ZA cows? I mean – the milk, the udders (maybe theirs have 5), do they look the same (up close & personal)?

 

 This is NOT my picture, it’s courtesy of the NH Den Haag – the hotel is the first one from the left, the tram goes through that tube-thingamajik….

 

I decided to do the canal cruise – on one of the open boats available. This one was called the “101 Wonders Cruise”. I cannot even remember 10 wonders, how will I ever remember the 101?!

The boats depart right from in front of Amsterdam Centraal Station (one on the left is the station, the 2nd one is the boat-people I picked to take me on this wild ride)

 

             

The lovely (adjective used very loosely, it was hazardous to my health!)  cruise  includes a running commentary of the specific sights along the canal route. I barely heard a word of the commentary as we had this irritating tourist asking questions the whole bloody time! He wasn’t even Chinese, so I dunno WHAT his excuse was. Damn tourists!!

 

We were unable to get a proper view of NEMO – Amsterdam’s Science Museum, I just got this kak pic while riding (?) past. It was designed by Renzo Piano. NEMO received over 400k visitors last year. You won’t have any trouble finding NEMO this time around, right? (LMAO @ my own kak joke) You’ll have to go google it to get more info (jirrie, that’s seriously a kak photo, it’s that dumguy’s fault, he was hogging the one blarrie place we could take a proper photo from…)

 

 

 

I saw this very stunning building towering above the rest from the boat – just love their architecture. You can go google this as well, its Sint Nicolaaskerk (check the spelling, okay?). And it’s the one with the towers sticking out, capiche?

 

 

What I loved about the city was it’s buzz – the canals were busy with traffic – we even had some traffic jams, but the driver managed a manoeuvre that got us out of the fix in no time – he did a 3 point turn right in the canal – if ever one can do that in such a tight space! People were having picnics on the sidewalks, or even just having a lie-down right where they were. Of course, there were bicycles galore – they seem to be more popular than cars!

 

   

 

Oooh, and did I see some hotties on that cruise. But I couldn’t take any pictures. Dammit. But I got them in me mind, ja!

 

 Some more arb pictures………..just to irritate the living daylights out of all the photo boffins ๐Ÿ˜‰ There are still a lot (about 250…or so, I forget if it’s thousands or just 250) being lived in. Residents have permanent power connections, and guess where their poo goes? There are even some Boat pubs as well. Bet you didn’t know THAT? lol And no, I didn’t find the time….

 

 

 Okay, at this point I’m aborting, ‘coz the album-thingie is up to kak again….so I’d rather give you this and follow with some more later

 

MWAH!

 

You can find out more about the sights, etc here http://www.amsterdam.info/sights/

 

© Dizzy, August 2009

Comments on: "Dizzy in Holland – A story in many parts. Part 1 – Amsterdam" (18)

  1. JoDay said:

    Stunning pics – wow!! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  2. zitaatterbury said:

    Looks like a great trip. Looking forward to see the rest.

  3. bronnie.l said:

    must say, amsterdam looks more scenic old time pretty that rotterdam (have never been there) what do u mean? the chinese tourist would never understand enough english to ask questions!hanging with BH boys later today…lol

  4. Mahesi said:

    Nice pics Diz ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Sylvia.Brouwer said:

    Sounds like you made the most of your time there…what a lovely experience..please let us know as soon as you have any more news…mwah! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. optout said:

    Hi Dizzy, that brought back some good memories – also did the canal cruise and loved it – no irritating tourists on our boat. And the bicycles .. as I am a bit deaf my poor OH had to keep pulling me out the way because I just could not hear them coming, or the trams for that matter! Agree that Amsterdam has a great vibe – would love to go back some day.

  7. bronwyntivers said:

    Hey Diz,What an experience!! Have a good one :)PS not boring at all ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. PaulNicholas said:

    I’ve never been to Holland – it looks good! Enjoy your trip and don’t forget to annotate your pictures!

  9. Killakat said:

    What on eartjh are you talking about? Plain eengreesh, preese?

  10. Killakat said:

    PS: Got it. I didn’t hear the names of half of the buildings & bridges of interest (remember that chatty tourist?). Sowwy :(PPS: I’m disappointed in you – I’m back already :((

  11. hemmingway said:

    now i am longing so i lived in holland for 2years wonderful

  12. isabel said:

    Lovely! Don’t worry I don’t do the professional pic thing either. A 3 point turn? Yikes!

  13. Mahesi said:

    Oh Dizz, thanks for asking. He is fine and the pains are gone.Enjoy our pm

  14. pinkpolkadot said:

    Dizzy, this was very nice and interesting!! Nothing wrong with your photos!!

  15. Same shit different day said:

    Catching up – brilliant post ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  16. algoabay said:

    Lovely post:-)

  17. Killakat said:

    LOL!

  18. foot loose said:

    Hi Diz. Catching up. Amsterdam charming – altho we did Red light district and ‘coffee’ bars!Re: Collage pix. Download Picasa (free). It a doddle!

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

