… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

Sjoe….

I cannot explain to you what I feel like today. Heeltemal deurmekaar, I tell you. My insides are a mess. Excited, filled with trepidation. Nerves shot to hell. Why?

I applied for an internal position last week. In another country. Yesterday I was informed I’m on the shortlist. Of 3 candidates. Sjoe.

I need to go for an interview. Soon.

I have no clue how these things work.

What do I do next?
What type of questions should I expect?
What do I ask?
Should I tell KK (bossman)?

Hell, I told you I had no clue.

Anybody have experience in this kind of thing?

HELP!!!!

Edit:
Seriously, I have no idea what the protocols are around international interviews, transfers, next steps and the likes, so I really would appreciate any tips / inputs from any of you who have gone through a similar process. I am indeed scared shitless….

Have a Fabulous weekend

xxx

Comments on: "Sjoe…." (43)

  1. algoabay said:

    Take a deep breath and relax, you will be fine. Go with your gut feeling πŸ˜‰

  2. Janete said:

    OOOO GOOD LUCK Diz. I’ll be holding thumbs for you πŸ˜‰

  3. foot loose said:

    Oh Diz, how exciting! Will hold thumbs for you.

  4. ezanne1 said:

    Step 1. Make sure your passport is ready.Step 2.Dont sweat the interview, You are South African so they love you alreadyStep 3. Never look back, but make sure you come back πŸ™‚

  5. Sundancer said:

    Good luck Dizzy this is very exciting. Take it step by step.

  6. davidsdance said:

    in another country????????????????Nooooooooooooooooooooo but extremely happy for you!! Good Luck!

  7. Killakat said:

    That gut has turned to mush…lol

  8. Killakat said:

    Its still early days, Tweakster, we don’t know what will happen yet?Pls don’t NOT speak to me? 😦

  9. Killakat said:

    Thanks a mil J!

  10. Killakat said:

    Thanks Footsy, who knows, we might just be seeing each other soon, hmm? πŸ˜‰

  11. Killakat said:

    1. Check2. Uhm, okay3. Will ALWAYS come back. You guys are my peeps ;)lol

  12. Killakat said:

    Last night I was wondering “WTF were you thinking, Dizzy?” lol Need to calm down and get excited

  13. Killakat said:

    It’s in German πŸ˜‰ Anyone speaks German? lolKidding, they sent me an English version. Thanks M!!

  14. Killakat said:

    What was I thinking, neh? lol

  15. Mahesi said:

    Good luck Dizzy, keep us posted πŸ™‚

  16. Same shit different day said:

    SO exciting – holding thumbs for you Dizzy and good luck πŸ™‚ xx

  17. LeaS said:

    Don’t tell KK, tell him once you get it! Which I’m sure you will!!

  18. isabel said:

    Jsut be yourself. If you now try and prepare for questions they MAY ask you’ll get yourself into a flat spin – no need for that. So…what country???Thanks for your kind words Dizzy πŸ™‚

  19. Killakat said:

    Tx, and of course I will. You guys are my sounding board!xx

  20. Killakat said:

    πŸ™‚

  21. Killakat said:

    I wonder tho’ if it will be an issue seeing that it’s internal? Need to find out…

  22. Killakat said:

    It’s a huge step….

  23. Killakat said:

    Deutschland …at least they understand Afrikaans? πŸ˜‰

  24. bronnie.l said:

    it might help if you tell us what country? (or you can spaces me in secret! hehehee)you can ask at the interview what steps they will take for your visa, relocation costs etc. I wouldn’t know but other people get this stuff included! does that help?

  25. bronnie.l said:

    oh I just read the comment lower down. that’s germany right? they don’t get afrikaans particularly!

  26. Sylvia.Brouwer said:

    Imagine yourself walking into the interview…cool, calm , collected…do some research on the position…You need to tell KK as they will probably go to him first (internal) …think about why you really want this job and then work out how you will get it… I was in a position like this last year this time (not overseas, but where I am now).. I am holding thumbs for you…Vasbyt! πŸ˜€

  27. Killakat said:

    Thanks! That’s a start πŸ˜‰

  28. Killakat said:

    Teehee….I know πŸ˜‰

  29. Killakat said:

    Thanks Doll! I have a very good idea about the position etc – it’s the rest I’m worried about πŸ˜‰

  30. snowdon said:

    Wow.. congrats πŸ™‚ That’s fantastic! I too have no idea what the protocol is so can only offer you good wishes! (((hugs)))

  31. ezanne1 said:

    Seriously Dizzy. I hardly said 3 words in my interview and was of to America 3 days later.Not sure what job you are going for though

  32. bronwyntivers said:

    Hey Diz,As far as I know each company has their own protocols around these things i.e. who organises visas, travel, accommodation etc. Perhaps it would be best to speak to your HR dept to find out what the official procedures are for your company???Hope that helps…Have an awesome on πŸ™‚

  33. Killakat said:

    You are a very clever woman indeed! Now why didn’t I think of that? πŸ˜‰

  34. ThatOke said:

    I hate Interviews..really realy hate them. Good luck for yours though πŸ™‚

  35. Killakat said:

    Thanks GF πŸ™‚

  36. Killakat said:

    Thanks, gonna need it! Things have changed….Thanks 4 the visit!

  37. bambina said:

    wow! that is a wonderful oppotunity!Good luck … sorry I can’t be of any help. My interview days are long gone.Have a wonderful weekend!

  38. armadillo said:

    lucky bird! congratulations! hope it goes well. have a stunning weekend.

  39. pinkpolkadot said:

    Congratulations!! Wonderful opportunity!!

  40. Colonialist said:

    Excellent advice from all! In fact, without being cocky, you should also use the interview to make sure the job would be something you would really like to do – a realistic confidence is always a good sign in an applicant.

  41. Zeelia said:

    Great news and great advise… Don’t be scared just take the challenge and “Que Sera, Sera”…

  42. Killakat said:

    πŸ™‚

  43. kevinmatthews said:

    Low tops and short skirts, worked for SARAH PALIN!

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

