… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

So what a shock to wake up to the news that Michael Jackson has passed away (I was going to say kicked-the-bucket but thought that too crude)

Make no mistake, I loved the man. I grew up with his music in the house and all over the place. In our community if you didn’t love his music – YOU in fact, were considered wacko! My kids love him just as much, because obviously, they are exposed to the same Jackson 5 and MJ music we were. Come to my house for a party and there’s bound to be “You Rock My World” or “Thriller” thrown into the mix somehow! lol

I think he was a great artist, but obviously lost the plot somewhere along the line. And I’m sure I don’t have to explain myself at all.

Boo and I were fortunate enough to have seen his one and only live show in JHB years back. I think I was about 6-7 months preggers with the TA then. Ja, its LONG ago, and JA, no boep was going to prevent me from attending that show. And I still feel like a 20-something *winks* no comments please! 

I do not understand though how people can be so emotional over him? I mean really?! He was human, for goodness sakes, he was bound to ..er.. pass away SOMETIME. The fact that he’s only 50 makes no diff, does it? Or am I dizzyingly unfeeling again? People die all the time, right? So what makes him so special? Granted, he is an icon. But still a human one? And accoring to me, he’s lived a very full life indeed.

I bawled my eyes out with Diana, but I was in post natal depression, THAT’s why I cried. For days. I can’t cry this time around. He’s had his life. We lost a great but wacko musician, but we will get over this too

MJ – RIP. I’m glad I bought every single album and DVD you had out there. Now I’m sitting on a goldmine!!

Have a fanflippentastic day, you guys!!!

Comments on: "Friday Randomness" (17)

  1. Sundancer said:

    Hi Dizzy. Yes it is the end of an era but like you I am not going to have hysterics or hold a vigil for him and I too grew up with his music. Keep warm and have a lovely weekend.

  2. granny47 said:

    Morning Dizzy…quite right.

  3. Killakat said:

    Great, I’m not a total brick of ice! lol

  4. algoabay said:

    You hit the nail on the dead. Have a good weekend 🙂

  5. CraigSmith said:

    It was shocking news but it was more sad hearing that a friend from high school’s mother had died 😦

  6. hutton said:

    😉

  7. isabel said:

    I am avoiding all news sites because they are all about MJ.

  8. Killakat said:

    It’s actually disgusting. Just shows what their priorities are!

  9. bronwyntivers said:

    Hey Diz,It’s the end of an era – that’s for sure. I hope his kids can now live out their lives in peace!!Have a good one 🙂

  10. flyonthewall said:

    No, really, you are still not getting me. Duh.

  11. kevinmatthews said:

    Do I come accross very old?

  12. pinkpolkadot said:

    I have posted the Roly-Poly recipe at last!!Enjoy your weekend!!

  13. davidsdance said:

    and you have a flippenfragalistic weekend too! XX

  14. Killakat said:

    Jirrie, thanks Kevin!

  15. Killakat said:

    Thanks doll, will go right over

  16. bronnie.l said:

    I’m not sure he’s really dead. i think there will be conspiracy theories abound! lol

  17. snowdon said:

    I agree– everyone dies. These die-hard fans are something else! Hope you had a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

