… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

Morning all, things at work are quite crazy – critical milestones looming and team members being off sick (obviously didn’t take me seriously when I said no staying off work due to illness!!), its a bloomin’ nightmare for me, but I will prevail. Herewith next instalment.
Have a fantastic day
x

*******

Prank or not, you asked? I didn’t know either. And I wasn’t going to find out quickly.

There was no reaction whatsoever. The guy was silent. It killed us. It made us wonder if he got it. I didn’t deliver it personally – there was no freakin’ way I was doing THAT. What if my brother found out? I’d be in BIG kak. (Not that he was in school, he was working already, but he had connections, and he was stricter than strict about these things)

Nopes, it was done via my friends who handed it to a friend of a friend of a friend of his, and that’s how he got it. Or so we thought.

After about a week, we couldn’t handle it anymore. So we started asking the friend of the friend of the friend of the boy in question. All very clandestine. Top secret.

Yip, he got it. And the whole blarrie school knew about it too. AND it’s contents. I was mortified. My whole business laid bare for everyone to see, it was enough that people thought there was no chance in HELL that he could EVAH like a girl like me. Then I blow him off? The stares and whispers were driving us crazy. But I digress ….

He was upset. He wouldn’t look at me. When he saw me coming down the corridor, he would either turn around or go down another route. We weren’t sure about what he was upset about exactly – that he was blown off (by a standerd sessie) or that the whole school knew about the rejection.

Or maybe he was just not interested, neh? We eventually decided it was indeed a prank and went on our merry way. But we were depro (truthfully, me more than my T-blas, they were just mad at him).

So why was I depro? Because he made me hope and dream of happily ever afters. Of driving into the sunset in his dad’s GTI. Of going to movies and sharing popcorn. Of stolen kisses and whatnot. I was actually starting to name the babies, for goodness sakes!!!

I was totally besotted. All it took (as you’ve seen) was just the hint that some handsome popular boy liked ME. I was crying and crying myself into a stupendous depression. Crazy, I know, but there wasn’t much excitement in my life, you know. This was the most thrilling experience I’d ever had (in my 12.5 years of existence).

Then we broke for school holidays. Some respite at last…..but, I was not destined to lick my wounds and heal my heart….

Went out to buy bread the one day – and lo and behold, who should be standing on my café stoep. None other than Mr Jase and his tjomma’s. I was mortified. I was barefoot, in my oldest shorts and T, hair in ‘n sooldoek (we cut a piece of pantyhose off, preferably the thigh part, keep one hand on the crown of our head, comb our hair around the head, put the kous on, then keep it on for a few hours – and voila! the hair comes out lovely and straight. Strange, neh? I know). But he was HERE. On MY café’s stoep?!!! Hanging around doing nothing much but chatting and speaking to his buddies. He had his own café stoep where he lived, he could’ve just hung out THERE. But he came to MY stoep. I was ecstatic. He MUST have come here to see me….

I pretended I never saw him, and dashed back home. Only to stand skulking around the dining room, then the living room, then the kitchen, to get a better look at him. By then the re-inforcements had been called in and they were on their way to come check this situation out themselves. They had to see this with their very own eyes, you know? They arrived too late. He’d left. I was crushed. Why couldn’t he have stayed there for the day? I would’ve gone to the shop again, you know?

After that, I was always looking my best, just in case Mr J and buddies made an appearance at the shops again. He never did. OK, I knew coz I was ALWAYS watching the stoep like a hawk. Going to toilet was a bugger. He was a Bugger. He was a blarrie tease, I tell ya’ll.

Needless to say, I was now convinced he liked me. I mean, wasn’t it clear?

Comments on: "Of First Loves – Confusion Reigns" (17)

  1. granny47 said:

    Such a painful age!

  2. JournoJen said:

    Oh dear all this confusion and running emotions (more like hormones) LOL

  3. Sundancer said:

    Thank god I am not a teenager again!! Have a super day Dizzy.

  4. bronwyntivers said:

    Hey Diz,I think we’ve all probably been there!!You think you’re reading too much into it, but what if you’re not, but what if you only think you’re not….oi!!!

  5. Sivuyisiwe said:

    Oh my goodness! i just can not stop laughing the way you tell your story is just superb.I could imagine all you were saying.That was something hey.

  6. APisces said:

    This is hilarious, and scary enough to bring back some memories of my own 😉

  7. Killakat said:

    Pitifully so, it makes me empathise with my teeny bopper…

  8. Killakat said:

    It was terrible! I didn’t know whether i was coming or going! lol

  9. Killakat said:

    ….exactly!!

  10. Killakat said:

    In retrospect, I totally agree with you!

  11. Killakat said:

    LOL! Precisely! What if you missed a crucial clue that would lead you to the answer?!….

  12. Killakat said:

    Hey Vuyi, what freaks me out is that I remember practically every detail of that few years, yet I can’t remember the name of that new employee I just met a few minutes ago! lol

  13. Killakat said:

    Glad I can make you laugh, though it was NO laughing matter at the time, you know? 😉 lolAND you MUST share your story too

  14. Killakat said:

    Working hard on it, Bloggsie!xx

  15. Same shit different day said:

    😀 He was in awe of your fabulosity, have a great evening my friend 🙂 xx

  16. Killakat said:

    You sure? Really Really? 😉

  17. Killakat said:

    Fabulosity, not so sure… 😉

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

