… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

*wondering why I put myself through this pressure*

Hallo Guys, here is the first installment of a very short and sweet story. I am having some issues at work today, so will catch up when I can. Enjoy.

*********

I met Jason in standard 6. I was 12, silly and very much a nerd. I wasn’t ugly, but no oil painting either. Picture this: hair always pulled back in ponytails – asif I could afford this with the huge shiner (forehead) I have – socks and dress that ended at the knees (I kid you not – I looked like a nun gone bad). To remind you – some of my nicknames in school were: knersus, mina moo, dunlops, pizza face, knock-knees. That should give you an idea of how charmingly gorgeous I was.

And of course, we (my girlfriends – MS & RC) were not part of the “in crowd” because we were bookworms, nerdy, not the best-looking in the class. We were only good enough to be exploited by others when homework needed to be done. Needless to say our self esteem was non-existent.

Enter Jason – school heartthrob. He was in std 8 at the time. Handsome, tall, clever, witty and a whole lot of muscles too *drools at memory*. One of the star track athletes in the school. He was a god in our eyes. A greek god. And he had the most gorgeous eyes. He could reduce anyone to a puddle by just looking at them….he reduced me to a puddle every single time

Of course we noticed him – from very much afar. And in our hearts we dreamt of getting just a look or a smile from Mr Hearthrob. It stayed a dream for a while

He was always surrounded by a bevy of sexy, gorgeous girls and guys, and of course we envied them the time they got to spend in Mr J’s proximity. But we also fatalistically realised that this crowd was way beyond our league, so after a few weeks, he was delegated to a very far away place in the furthermost recesses of our very girlish and innocent minds.

Then the bomb hit our little group….just before the end of the first term one of his minions delivered the first (in a long line of) letters. But it was done so rudely. I remember some of the conversation….

Rude girl: Is jy Dizzy? (are you…) she knew who I was….

Me: Ja, hoekom (yes, why?) Can you see the defences coming up?

Rude girl: Jason gee jou hierdie (J sent you this)

Me: (incredulously looking around, maybe there was someone else by that name around) Whaa….? Uhh….Is jy seker dis vir my? (are you sure it’s for me?)

Rude girl: Is jy dom of wat? JY ja (are you stupid or what? Yes, it’s for you)

Me: O, OK (took it and shoved it in my pocket)

Rude girl mutters to herself that she doesn’t understand….well, me neither (I thought to myself)

I was glued to the spot. My heart was racing, my hands clammy, I couldn’t move for about an hour or so. *Ok, it was more like 5 mins, but it sure felt like an hour* There was a roaring in my ears, I felt I was going to faint. During this interaction with the minion, I completely forgot about my friends.

Friends: Dizzy, Dizzy, is jy OK? Skrik wakker!!! (are you OK?! wake up!!) And I sommer got a klap on the back ‘coz I wasn’t responding

They of course wanted me to open the letter NOW.

Me: Nie nou nie, ek wil dit alleen lees (Not now, when I have some privacy)

Them: O lekker no! Ons gaan NOU toilet toe sodat ons dit sommer NOU lees…(they dragged me off to the toilets so we could read the letter)

Oooh, he was good. He extolled my beauty (huh?). How much he liked me. How he’s been admiring me from afar (sounds like something from a novel, neh?). He’d noticed me from the first moment I set foot in the school (OK, he had me from the first sentence). I’m like a precious flower that no one notices until it starts blooming (yoh, I told you he was good). He thinks I’m such a lady and can he be my boyfriend? (Flip me…..)

I looked at my friends, who looked at me, then at each other….

And we burst out laughing. It took us a while to compose ourselves sufficiently to make it back to class. Which we were late for already….but we continued giggling and whispering, trying to get over this humungous event that had just occurred in our very measly lives

We (the joys of being T-blas – tight friends – it’s never I, it’s “we) thought: Was this guy mad? Had he seen what I looked like? Has he noticed that we’re the nerds? He must blarrie well need glasses. Or it was a prank. One we were not going to fall for. Huhuh, we were waaayy to clever for that

I (we) replied to him – short and sweet (coz I was mos too scared he’s gonna think me an even bigger poephol – which I had, but that’s beside the point). Ok, it took us about a week to reply to his letter. In that time we had composed and torn up about hundreds of drafts, to finally settle on the perfect reply….(infused with Charlie perfume, and a lovely flower drawn in the corner)

This was it (on very nice pink paper – I was a lady after all ;-)):

Dear J

Thank you for your letter. (polite, neh?)

I have no time for boys right now

D

**********
next installment to follow

Have a Fantastic day

Comments on: "Of First Loves – The Saga Begins" (31)

  1. hutton said:

    😉

  2. rosegarden said:

    You and I would probably have been friends at school 😉

  3. Rockybaby said:

    In retrospect – do you think it was a prank? I shall wait for the continuation of the saga.Pink paper and Charly – I think we all did that. Lol.Take care and thank you for the visit.

  4. JournoJen said:

    YAY so glad you gave in and are telling us the story 🙂 Hee hee gee you played hard to get! Can’t wait for the next installment

  5. jduplooy said:

    Good post!!

  6. shaynix said:

    Lovely Dizzy, can’t wait to hear what happened

  7. Killakat said:

    Oh, and how we agonised over this?! Can’t stand Charlie anymore. Wonder why? 😉

  8. Killakat said:

    :-))

  9. Killakat said:

    Nothing stopping us now? 😉

  10. Killakat said:

    Yup, the typical cliché….prank or not still to be revealed… 😉

  11. Killakat said:

    JJ, it was more a case of being scared shitless! lol!I was 12 for heavens’ sakes, what did I know about boys? And older ones at that?

  12. Killakat said:

    Thank you so much!

  13. Killakat said:

    See reply to JJ, Tweak. I was totally intimidated 😉

  14. Killakat said:

    🙂

  15. Killakat said:

    And I haven’t even had time to start the next one. pfffttt.:-)

  16. Killakat said:

    Oh yes, he did Madmom…. 😉

  17. Same shit different day said:

    Oy Dizzy – are you being good and did you get your work issues sorted out – take good care my friend (loved chapter 1) 🙂 xx

  18. Sivuyisiwe said:

    Phew! that was something reminded me of those good olden days.Why are clever or hardworking girls always the ones who feel unattractive?

  19. bronnie.l said:

    arrrgh how can you leave me hanging like that!!!

  20. snowdon said:

    What a beaut! That must have knocked his ego back a mile 😉 In Std6 I “received” a letter from a guy I was madly in love with only to find out that it was a prank and I was the laughing stock of the entire hostel – Bitches!

  21. Noregrets said:

    Great post Dizzy! What a wonderful way to start the day…cant wait for the next installment

  22. APisces said:

    LMAO, Dizzy. What a response, poor guy. Can’t wait for the next installment. 🙂

  23. Killakat said:

    I have concluded that it’s all society’s fault – too much emphasis on the external….thinking this makes me feel better anyway! 😉

  24. Killakat said:

    ty, Koko

  25. Killakat said:

    Tuesday issues sorted, but the project issues = ongoing 😉 Ty WCxx

  26. Killakat said:

    🙂

  27. Killakat said:

    Sorry? 😉

  28. Killakat said:

    Blarrie bitches! 😉 That was just horrible, but I’m sure you showed them a thing or two?

  29. Killakat said:

    Ty, Lisa, you toox

  30. Killakat said:

    Well, there you go 😉 The next one’s not as funny, i think…

  31. Killakat said:

    Ah, Tweakster, you make it soooo easy 😉

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

