… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

The teenager once told me he never kissed a girl. Lies Lies Lies!!! This is what happened.

Playing Spin Master over the weekend – it was my turn, it landed on truth or dare. He opted for truth. B2 goads me “Ask him if he’s French kissed a girl yet” WTFF?? (what the flying fuck?)

So I ask. He says yes. I nearly went through the roof. Calm down Mummy

Oooo-kay. When?” I ask

“One question only Mummy” Pfft.

I was gonna spin and get truth or dare again…..

….I asked him if he’s ever masturbated (left-field, neh?). He said no. Do you really think I can trust him? After the kissing thing? Sheez

After about 20 spins, I finally land on it again. According to the bloody rules, I can’t challenge TA to truth again. This time it was the Tween’s turn. Truth he says. TA chirps “Ask him if he’s ever kissed a girl” I did, with a devilish grin he replies “Of course Mummy” WTTTFFFFFFFFF??!!!! I nearly got a cadenza (heart attack) “When??!!”. He had no qualms about answering “In Preschool” like 6 YEARS ago?!! Me: “Were you playing?” “No, I wanted to kiss her

“But, you were still in bloody nappies, how could you even know what kissing was?” Ok, I admit, I exaggerate. He was about 5 at the time. And potty trained. And i thought he was yanking my chain. I was wrong.

He didn’t dare answer that he learnt from “us” because we never canoodled in front of them. Until recently. Hulle’s nou groot genoeg om die goed te handle (they’re big enough now, and know all about making honey)

I swear, it’s the bloody Coloured community. They tend to raise their kids in a “no holds barred” manner. Having children kiss each other in pre-school and having boyfriends and girlfriends in primary school is considered “cool”. Having label clothes from the age of 4 is considered cool. Or am I wrong in blaming my (Coloured) community? Does this happen everywhere else? (I expect lots of flack for this)

Not in my friggin’ handbook! There are rules, and limitations (not that it helped much then…) My children know it, there is seldom any discussion about it. Yet we are able to talk about it…some things are open for discussion, you know. Some. Like, they will choose whomever I say they can marry. What they want to study. Agreeable, right? They can have sex when they are thirty. And have children when they are forty. I’m reasonable, no? 

I just want them to realise that there will be time for girls and experimenting. Parties never stop. There will always be nightclubs in abundance. Booze (AND our beloved pap-sakke, GC!!) will always be around. And hopefully they never even think of trying drugs.

I made it very clear that I do not want them to have any teenaged commitments and ties to any girls. They need to focus on school now. Oh and tertiary education. They can have girlfriends when they’re done with Varsity. OK, I’m unreasonable. And when pigs fly. But I can try, can’t I?

The TA told me I must stop being so controlling. My hackles rose

“Whaddaya mean I’m controlling”

“Not giving me space, can’t meet with Friends in Menlyn / Kollonade” (he wants me to drop him and fetch him after a few hours)

“No Friggin WAY! Have you heard what teenagers get up to in Menlyn or when left to their own devises even at home? Sommer doing the deed in the toilets and als? Not to mention the alcohol? NO NO NO”

“But MAAAHHAAAAA??! You need to trust me. Don’t you trust me?”

That floored me

“Of course I do…as far as I can throw you!”

He just gave me that disgusted look

“Really Ma, be serious”

I do trust him. I think we can give it a bash. He’s got a sort of a reunion coming up – meeting up with friends from pre-school. I’m thinking we can leave him there, and cruise the mall, catch a movie, when they are ready, we leave.

“No, Ma, you must go home and fetch me at 10:00. After movies”

“Oh lekker No”

“Why not?”

“What if something happens? What if one of your friends are being stupid? I wanna know where you are at all times”

“See, you’re controlling”

Pfftttt

Even tweenie was begging his case.

I still think it’s too much, too soon. Baby steps. He’s only 14 now. hell I went to my first party when I was bloody 16?!! An old cow already, yah! And I had to be home by 10:00pm? Jissie, who’s controlling?

He needs to first prove that I can trust him on a “night out” so to speak. Then we take it from there. And what about peer pressure? Will he be able to say no when it counts? I believe he can. He’s got strong beliefs. But will he be able to say NO when he wants to impress the girl he likes?

All the parents of teenagers out there – how did you handle all this hormones and stuff?

Comments on: "When are they big enough?" (22)

  1. JoDay said:

    Oy… :-(I still have all ths to look forward to… my daughter’s 12. x

  2. Darkchocolate said:

    I have one. the trick is to loosen the noose a little bit in order to avoid out right defiance and war.Negotiate the terms and find a mid way point that is comfortable. You have to. otherwise you are heading for a heartache.Like leave him alone at the mall with his head full of dos and dont and trust that he will self manage or call you if this get out of hand

  3. Angelor said:

    <Lol nothing has changed,.. I was only just starting out school as well!

  4. davidsdance said:

    chuckle chuckle and Dizzy is worried about her boy – oi my friend if it was a girl it would be 10 times worse – believe me! Been there, read the book, worn the t-shirt etc. etc. etc. But honestly mommy – you do need to let go just a little!!

  5. bronwyntivers said:

    Hey Diz,I’ll have to try my damndest NOT to think about what I was like…otherwise Connor will never leave the house LOLGood luck with the kids…Have a good one 🙂

  6. Killakat said:

    Well, we’ll hold hands together then!x

  7. Killakat said:

    I could only spell it 😉

  8. Killakat said:

    Soek jy alweer moeilikheid, Boet?Was considering it, but nah, thought you needed a break…UNCLE Tweak 😉

  9. Killakat said:

    Hmm, thanks DC, that sounds reasonable

  10. Killakat said:

    Well, put that way, I don’t feel sorry for him at all!:-)

  11. Killakat said:

    *sniff* Don’t wanna talk to me?

  12. Luvvit said:

    Oh my word Diz – now I am shitting my pants – my son is a tweener – and this has made me want to lock them kids up in their rooms until they’re 77…

  13. Killakat said:

    Serious? Am I really that bad? And I thought I was open-minded and relaxed. Bugger me.Thank Goodness I don’t have girls, can you imagine the crises then? LOL!

  14. Killakat said:

    Well, Bron, if it’s gonna help me…:-)

  15. Killakat said:

    I know! lol

  16. Same shit different day said:

    Eina Dizzy – makes me glad we’re sprogless – have a good day doll 🙂

  17. JournoJen said:

    Eish after reading this I am not sure I want kids anymore! 🙂

  18. Killakat said:

    I love them to bits. But my heart won’t stand all the drama, I think!!

  19. feefy said:

    Hey doll, cut him a bit of slack…

  20. hutton said:

    lol

  21. Killakat said:

    Good Grief Voxy, now I really think he’s been lying to me!! 😉

  22. Killakat said:

    I never hid anything. Ok except that I was riding that bull. Woulda killed them 😉

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

