… a little bit of this, that and a lot more

So I have this boss (aka Manager) who has the tendency to omit informing me (at this point I am not sure if I should say “us”) of critical project communication. He goes on conferences, returns without having feedback sessions with his staff (again, maybe it’s just me) in which he should inform us of what we can expect over the next few years.

 
I would like to know why. Is it a male / female thing? Or is it a black / white thing? I know many people baulk at this because we have to get over our insecurities already. Yeah, I agree, but if you have people constantly undermining you (and I have proof of this), then you have to wonder. I don’t like to use any such arguments because it just implies that I still have a friggin chip on my shoulders. And I really want to believe that I don’t – that we are all equal now, and recognized based on our capabilities.

 

My capabilities have been proven (or so I thought – see how the self-doubt creeps in??). I have a proven track record. In the 1.5 years I’ve been here, I have implemented at least a dozen projects – 3 of them unplanned. And they were successful. Sure you have your slipped deadlines, but if the project is eventually delivered on time & budget, who cares how spectacularly wrong it went on the way to delivery??

 

So why does he feel he does not have to share information pertinent to a new project I will be running next year with me? I have to find out in a management meeting – with our clients no less – that he is sitting on all this information. WTFF? Fortunately, being the industrious person I am, I managed to find out all the crucial details about this project beforehand. So at least I wasn’t flying completely blind. Otherwise I would have looked an even bigger, incompetent idiot, not being able to contribute intelligently at all.

 

What would you do now – go to him and confront him about it. Or leave it be??

Comments on: "The equality thing" (2)

  1. DisplacedTruths said:

    I think some if not all managers (sorry for all the managers out there), tend to do this from time to time if not all the time. They probably want you to look bad.. so they can come in save the day. So they will look good, u’ll look bad. They will get the salary increase. All works out for them. Unfortunately for u. I’ll confront him but have learned that in the end it doesn’t help.

  2. Killakat said:

    Luna, you’re right. have done it myself and didn’t get anywhere. so I sit and sulk, eh? Bugger.

Leave a Reply

The Zeit

Your Body, Energy and Mind Blog

Caroline Criado-Perez

A Pox on the Patriarchy

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Something Like a Storybook

from Morgan Bradham

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

